Coconut Cake

It’s Mother’s Day soon, and my mother likes two things:

1. Coconuts

2. Cake

What else am I supposed to do? I have no choice but to broil lobster tails for dinner.

And then I had a thought: what if I did coconut cake for dessert? No clue where that idea came from, but I’m so glad it came to me. Maybe something crazy will happen to you too, someday. 

This cake is based on a simple vanilla cake recipe, but with coconut milk in place of regular milk, and with coconut frosting. The coconut milk gives it a richness that regular 2% milk just can’t. The coconut-ness definitely comes through but isn’t too exaggerated, which is good. Best served with a cool drink, like ice cold sweet tea, and a really big fork. 

Ingredients:

The Cakey Part:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour. Really adds a nice taste.
  • 1 cup granulated sugar. Don’t be afraid of that sugar.
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt. It’s only half your daily recommended intake, so you can eat two cakes!
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder. No, it’s not the same as baking soda. 
  • egg. One lonely egg.
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract. When in doubt, vanilla.
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil. Wait, I can use this stuff for more than stir-fry? 
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk. If it don’t got copious amounts of fat, it ain’t coconut enough.

The Frosting:

  • 1/2 cup butter. This is frosting — now is NOT the time to skimp in an attempt to be healthy. 
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract. When in doubt, vanilla again.
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar. Eat the rest of the package. 
  • Little bit of milk. Use some of that coconut milk, if you’re fancy. 
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut. Or much more. 

Steps:

The Cakey Part:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Don’t touch the metal stuff inside the oven. Don’t even be tempted. 
  2. Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt.
  3. In small bowl, whisk together egg and vanilla.
  4. Add these to flour mixture: oil, egg/vanilla mixture, coconut milk. Stir until well mixed.
  5. Bake at 350° for 30 to 40 minutes. Or until wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean blah blah.

The Frosting:

  1. Beat butter till smooth. I’ve actually done this with a fork, because back then I didn’t have a mixer. 
  2. Beat in vanilla extract. When in doubt…
  3. Beat in powdered sugar. It’ll appear too dry, but that’s the only kind of humor it knows. Sorry.
  4. Stir in milk until you like the consistency. About 1 tbsp. Unless you like your frosting to be soupy. 
  5. Now frost the whole thing. Top, bottom, sides, insides, soul, essence, all of it. 

Go That Extra Mile: 

  • Sprinkle shredded coconut over the whole thing.
  • Get chocolate frosting and make a heart shape.
8 Comments Add yours

  1. kjherstin says:

    I am definitely going to give this recipe a try. It looks delicious!

  2. This cake sounds really great, I love how you used coconut milk in the batter, and also your comments are adorable 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Aw thanks! I made this a while ago and it looked super-unimpressive, haha. I think that was my awful-but-I-think-I’m-awesome cooking phase. Tasted good though!

  3. carolfroom says:

    Love how this sounds…and the humor 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Ha thanks! I’m glad someone finds me amusing.

  4. lianaspil says:

    Reblogged this on Purplesticks.

Tell me somethin'

