Profiteroles

I rolled out of bed at 7:00am this morning and I felt like making French food. So I did.

IMG_4331

Welcome to my life. Be jealous, friends.

The good news: this may be French food, but it ain’t fancy. Hardly any waiting time, no buttering/rising/folding/kneading involved. And it’s still yummy as heck. Drizzle it with easy chocolate syrup. I mean, come on guys — the French know their foodstuff. 

Profiteroles are fluffy, light, and slightly buttery. They’re pretty much hollow on the inside; the high moisture content allows them to rise to great heights. It’s the perfect complement to any breakfast, and light enough for a mid-afternoon snack.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 stick butter. Eat the other half stick. 
  • 1/2 cup water. Drink the other half cup.
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour. Ever try to eat flour? Today’s the day. 
  • 2 eggs. They’re a cute couple. 
  • Dash of cinnamon. Optional, as always. Poor cinnamon. 

Steps to Success:

1. Preheat oven to 425. It’s hot, I know.

2. Put butter and water in a saucepan and bring to a boil. Add the flour. 

IMG_4305

3. Mix. It’ll start to look like dough.

IMG_4308

4. Take out of saucepan and put into bowl. Let cool till it’s just warm.

IMG_4332

5. Beat in the eggs, one at a time. Gotta love that mixer.

IMG_4335

6. Then, if you’re feelin’ fancy, add a dash of cinnamon. I’m feeling fancy today. Don’t get used to it.

7. Squeeze into an icing bag, and dollop into greased baking sheet. They said to use a plain head, but I used my favorite one instead. I’m a rebel. Applaud.

IMG_4343

8. Pop in the oven for 15 minutes, rotating halfway through. Now go outside and take some pictures.

IMG_4365

The Extra Mile:

  • Drizzle in chocolate syrup. Super super super easy. Two ingredients. Recipe here.
  • Sprinkle with powdered sugar. 

Look at it. I mean, just look at it. Ugh love that French stuff.

IMG_4375

IMG_4383

 

45 Comments Add yours

  1. Okay, I can’t even believe how easy these sound! And again, hilarious – my favorite mix: humor and food. 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thanks! And yep, I was surprised they were so easy too!

  2. kp Attman says:

    I’m definitely going to try them…as soon as I ship my mixer in from Venezuela, where I left it on my last move. I’ll let you know how they turn out.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Definitely keep me posted! You must be very attached to your mixer.

  3. sedrate says:

    Thank you for the easy recipe, I LOVE profiteroles. I cut them in half and fill them with whipped cream, like a cream puff. Then they’re my favourite.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yep, they’re surprisingly easy! Gotta love whipped cream.

  4. These profiteroles look great! I have yet to make profiteroles, but it’s been on my to-make list for awhile now. I like how simple this recipe is–thanks for sharing!

  5. These sound super easy and way fun…definitely going to try them out!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yep, it’s really fun to see them puff up in the oven! Makes you feel French.

      1. What do they taste like?

      2. Kitchen Cici says:

        Like an eclair. They have a slightly buttery taste to themselves, but you probably want to spice it up with some whipped cream in the middle, and/or chocolate on top!

      3. Yumm-o…my boy would love these 🙂

  6. emilykarn says:

    I make these all the time. For a good upper arm work out beat the eggs in by hand. Try chocolate whipped cream for the filling. Emily

  7. emilykarn says:

    Reblogged this on emilykarn and commented:
    A great easy recipe!

  8. thehomesliceblog says:

    my kind of breakfast!!!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yep, mine too!! 🙂

  9. Ally Bean says:

    YUM! Profiteroles for breakfast– inspired. I think I’m going to like your blog very, very much. Thanks for stopping by my blog and letting me know that you exist. Did I say yum?

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha thank you and you’re welcome! I try to shake it up around here and keep things weird. 🙂

  10. thebrookcook says:

    I love this post- and your life 🙂
    Sometimes I wake up and bake too!
    These look fabulous!

  11. Aisha says:

    Yumm! I’ve gotta try this!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      You should! It’s so easy. Let me know how it goes 🙂

  12. Pang says:

    Yummyyyyy!!!!! I love it.

  13. juhidharaiyapatel says:

    It looks yum… Seems a must try 😋

  14. juhidharaiyapatel says:

    Wow looks yum !!!
    Hmmm a recipe for must try over next weekend 😜

  15. aearthr says:

    Look so yummy!
    I’m hungry now even after finished my breakfast.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Well there’s always lunch….

  16. bellyfulloffood says:

    Yum, yum, yum

  17. eurekamon says:

    This is awesome. We also make it savory too…instead of drizzling it with chocolate…we cut it open and put in chicken salad or tuna salad. Great appetizers for a dinner party.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      That’s an awesome idea! I have to try that next time!!

      1. eurekamon says:

        it is so good and you add butter or romaine lettuce witb the chicken salads…mske it into a light sandwich depending on how big you make them….enjoy!

      2. Kitchen Cici says:

        Oh YES profiterole sandwiches!!!! This idea is coming to college with me. Maybe I’ll make some new friends.

      3. eurekamon says:

        lol…college kids always love the person who can cook ….pretty popular person…best of luck…

      4. Kitchen Cici says:

        Haha I hope! Thanks 🙂

      5. eurekamon says:

        YW 🙂

  18. Cedar R. says:

    You’ve got a great writing style and sense of humor 🙂 Looking forward to reading more from you – I can live vicariously through your kitchen creations, since I’m a little isolated right now and can’t get my hands on all the ingredients with which I’d like to be cooking. Carry on!

  19. sweetsavant says:

    Awesome post! Just add cheese and you’ve got Gougères…well, if you add cheese and subtract chocolate

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Indeed! Love the versatility of choux pastry!!

  20. itchierfeet says:

    You make it sound so easy! I’ll have to give them a go at least once.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yeah they are easy!! Let me know how they turn out!!

Tell me somethin'

