Woke Up Feeling Like Paula Deen

… Found out I wasn’t Paula Deen.

This morning at least. Maybe tomorrow will be better.

Does that there cake look delicious? Yes.

Was it? No.

See, I thought I could wake up, throw together some eggs, some flour, some sugar, some ripe bananas, and come out glorious with a dense and delicious banana bread. I didn’t even use a measuring spoon.

When I took it out of the oven and stuck a knife in it, the dense texture gave me such high hopes. But then I tasted it. It tasted mostly like banana, but vaguely like eggs.

Admittedly, it wasn’t all that bad. I mean, there are things out there such as banana sponge cakes, right? Maybe I just don’t like sponge cakes. Maybe that’s it.

Or maybe it’s because I attempted to fix this by topping it off with a homemade caramel frosting. The frosting was awful and lumpy, and the caramel-banana-egg combination more so.

I’ll follow the recipes next time.

Maybe.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. nancymn says:

    Thanks for the Like on my blog. And recipes are guidelines, not dogma. Not following them is the way to discover great new things.

  2. docandraider says:

    An ex of mine was like this (and probably still is, for all I know). His success rate was about 30%, but that’s because he’s a guy, and guys dont like to ask for directions. 🙂 I’m sure your rate, by comparison, is MUCH higher… LOL

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha that makes me feel better, thanks!

  3. Lee says:

    There is a book called The Science of Cooking, by Peter Barham. Dunno if it is the book I read or not, but there are a few out there that tell you what the common and not so common elements of baking and cooking do when added to a recipe and in combination with other ingredients. It explains the reason why you’d add one egg and not two, two eggs but not one, the difference between using milk or water, or why different sugars will adjust cooking temperatures. It regards the art of cooking as a scientific experiment. Then the reader can leave the science behind and go back to the art with a greater insight into the potential of their materials. It might take the not so pleasant mystery out of innovation and you could wake up as Paula Blumenthal.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Oooh thanks for the suggestion! I will definitely check into that!!

  4. kjherstin says:

    Well you never know unless you try. Experimenting in the kitchen is so much fun.

  5. Izzy says:

    Thank you for liking my post! I’ve done something very similar with a spirit of the moment carrot cake innovation. Looked good in the pan, but basically melted and splayed out into goo as soon as it was lifted out of its container. At least your cake was able to be eaten with utensils 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha glad I’m not the only one then!

  6. jeeps4ever says:

    My BF follows me around the kitchen writing down what goes into the foods he might like because he thinks that based on my “No measurement method” that I will “NEVER” be able to replicate the ones that really come out well. Fortunately based on his diligent recording I am able to post the good ones for my readers. Thanks for sharing the epic fail…it is good to know I am not the only one who has had to start over.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha I have to do that with myself too! Improvising is just so much more fun.

  7. Love this post (!) and the fact that you realized you’re not PD. Although I know (and completely understand why/how) she has a super loyal and devoted following, I stopped my PD updates after learning she put butter in an apple cider recipe. Because it tastes good. Eesh. And, super gross. So – congrats! “No” to butter in hot drinks 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha whoa butter in apple cider?? I guess that’s better than butter in lemonade…

      1. Fo sho! I guess there is a little PD redemption to be had.

Tell me somethin'

