Delicious Steamed Eggs

Eggs are amazing, don’t get me wrong.

But sometimes you run out of stuff to do with them in the mornings. You’ve scrambled them, fried them, baked them, omeletted them. You need something else in your life. Something Asian-inspired. Kinda savory, kinda salty.

Me.

Ha! No. You need these …

Asian Steamed Eggs

Taste & Texture: It’s a very silky smooth texture, the kind that breaks down in your mouth immediately, and breaks down on the transport spoon on the way to your plate, if you’re not careful. The taste is vaguely egg-y. (Come on. These are eggs after all.) But the egg base parts ways for whatever additions to it you decide to add.

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs. Better than peanut butter.
  • 1 cup water. Better than Coke.
  • pinch of salt. Better than sugar. Not.

Method:

1. Whisk everything together. You can also use a mixer. In that case, there will be foam on top, but you can scoop it off with a spoon.

IMG_4324
Oops, I missed a little bit of foam. Story of my kitchen life.

2. Cover with a plate. This isn’t absolutely necessary, but it’ll give you a smoother surface.

steamed eggs
You’ll do anything for smoother skin; why not do the same for your eggs? Call today for your free consultation.

3. Let water simmer for 12 minutes. Meanwhile, dance around the kitchen… Don’t know about you, but there’s a lot of dancing that goes on in my kitchen.

[Definitely not going to give you a picture of me dancing.]

4. Make sure the egg is thoroughly cooked. Stick a spoon in it, if no liquid comes out, it’s good.

Yep. Solid as my attendance when the words "food provided" are mentioned.
Yep. Solid as my attendance when the words “food provided” are mentioned.

The Eggstra Mile:

  • Make cheesy egg puns. Men and women both find them attractive. 
  • Garnish with savory things: soy sauce, green onions, chives, other leafy veggies. 

Try it and tell me how it goes! It’s something new to add to your usual morning repertoire. I love it. 

My cat also approves.

IMG_4615

Don’t be freaked out by the different bowl. This was taken on another day when the consistency of the egg was a little more impressive. Check out the texture on that thing. It’s perfect.

IMG_4617

Too bad I forgot to put in salt. Lesson learned.

15 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks delicious! Reminds me of when my mom made steamed eggs for dinner when I was growing up!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Did she make them exactly like? Or was it similar but something else? I’m curious!

      1. I don’t remember her exact recipe, but it looks the same! 😀

      2. Kitchen Cici says:

        Very cool! And excuse my awful grammar… I should proofread more. Got too excited.

      3. Hehe n/p, I got excited too! Haven’t seen steamed eggs anywhere other than my mom’s kitchen. I want some now!

  2. Kseinya says:

    Bookmarked! Found what I’m having for breakfast in the morning 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Awesommme! Let me know if you run into any trouble!

  3. misswandie says:

    I love Asian steamed egg, with some spring onions and soy sauce on top 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha yep! Unfortunately as an Asian I’m trained to avoid raw foods, including vegetables, so I couldn’t do the spring onions 😦 But it’s okay, these eggs are all I need.

      1. Zenia Chia says:

        I can relate to not having raw foods as an Asian! First tasted lettuce (raw) when I was a teenager!

  4. Rene says:

    Definitely going to try this. It looks beautiful!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Tell me how it turns out!! 🙂

      1. Rene says:

        I will. I think I even have some green onions in the fridge right now…perhaps I will saute them first. 🙂

  5. !! This looks delicious – definitely going to give it a try 🙂 we need a pic of you dancing! LOL

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Hahaha thanks! And maybe someday NOT.

Tell me somethin'

