No-Oven Honey Roasted Almonds

Have you ever had one of those honey roasted soy nuts?

Maybe a more accurate description would be, Have you ever had five handfuls of those honey roasted soy nuts?

I have. Multiple times.

4c1406fffa6f5e3e1
In one sitting.

So I did what I always do when I eat something delicious yet simple: examine the Ingredients list, hoping to get a glimpse of how I could make it for myself. 

When it came to my beloved soy nuts, I found the following:

“Soybeans, Sugar, Vegetable Oil, Honey, Salt, Maltodextrin, Xanthan Gum.”

I assumed the vegetable oil was used for the roasting the nuts, and the maltodextrin and xanthan gum were to sabotage innocent food adventurers like me.

So basically, this was just sugar, honey, and salt. That’s as easy as 1 + 1 + 1. 

Four. 

Four handfuls of almonds, because I didn’t have any soybeans on hand.

And now they’re all gone. I’m staring at the empty bowl right now. They’re gone.

Sigh.

Tomorrow is another day. 

Honey Roasted Almonds

Note: This isn’t the same taste or texture as the store-bought soy nuts, but it’s still a worthy recipe. The honey forms a thin crisp coat on the almonds, and the sugar/salt combo contributes depth to the taste. I’m not a big fan of a strong honey taste (I don’t know how Winnie the Pooh does it), but surprisingly enough, the honey wasn’t overbearing. It’s a simple taste; sweet with a hint of honey, and a little bit salty.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup almondsOr nut of choice. Your siblings don’t count.
  • 1 tsp honey. Or modified enriched evaporated high fructose corn syrup juice solids concentrate, if you’re feeling like a food corporation today.
  • 2 tbsp sugar. Mary Poppins obviously never had cherry-flavored cough syrup. No sugar can save that.
  • dash of salt. Dashing through the salt, in a one-horse open sleigh…

Steps:

1. Turn stove on Medium, add honey. In your skillet, saucepan, wok, whatever.

2. When the honey gets thinner, add in almonds. Stir and wrap it up in a winter coat of sweet sweet honey. 

3. Take off stove and sprinkle on sugar and salt.

4. Chill in fridge for 15 minutes. Gotta let that honey harden.

Can I get a Y. 

image-4

Can I get a U. 

image-5

Can I get an M.

What does that spell?

MUY, as in muy delicioso.

24 Comments Add yours

  1. Yummy! These honey roasted almonds look great as a snack!

  2. thehomesliceblog says:

    This seems so simple, I dont know why ive always assumed recipes for these were a closely guarded secret of gastropubs! Theyre more addictive than crack!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha they may have their own little recipes, and I’m sure this would be even more amazing if I took the time to bake them in the oven, but sometimes ya gotta have that quick fix… (:

  3. I have to say, those look tasty. Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  4. sedrate says:

    While I was stirring it all together I thought “What is she talking about, this won’t work.” But it did and they’re DELICIOUS. THANKS!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Aahhh!!! I’m SO happy you liked them!!! I’m seriously beaming right now. I think this just made my day 🙂

  5. amzie23 says:

    Sounds yummy. Have you tried it without adding the sugar?

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yeah I have! The honey and almond flavors come through more and there’s less sweetness (obviously). It’s not bad, I must say! The honey coating is pretty thin, so it tastes like salted almonds, with a hint of honey.

  6. amzie23 says:

    I want to try doing this but dehydrate them instead… will take a day or longer to dry I’m guessing.Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  7. gillbla says:

    I have indeed eaten handfuls and handfuls of these. Great to hear they are so easy to make. Did you know you can roast chickpeas into very more-ish crunch snacks too? and it’s just a case of spray with oil, shake in spices, leave in oven, come back and devour! Thanks for visiting my blog by the way.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yeah I’ve totally roasted chickpeas before too!! They’re very very good! And thanks for stopping by here too 🙂

  8. thehungrymum says:

    oh YEAH. I chomp my way through zillions of kilos of nuts a week so it is fairly accurate to say that I *shall* be making these very soon. Delish.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Let me know what you think of them! 🙂

  9. I changed your recipe a little. I replaced 1 tbsp of sugar with a baking square of dark chocolate. Sugar and spice and all things nice! Again, thanks for the recipe, it’s got a permanent place on my fridge.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Awesome! So glad you enjoyed it 🙂

  10. These sounds Yummers (as I like to say). This is a definate have to make for me

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yep, let me know how ya like ’em!

      1. I made some tonight. I like them. They were not too sweet. I will definitely make these again. Maybe using salted almonds

      2. Kitchen Cici says:

        Awesome!! 🙂 I’m so glad it worked out.

  11. Jini says:

    oh myy god !! this turned out sooo good ! i love you :* thanks for this easy lovely recipe

    1. Cici says:

      I’m so glad!! Thanks for dropping in!

Tell me somethin'

