The Best Scrambled Egg Method

“And if they make the perfect scrambled egg, you know they know how to cook properly.” — Gordon Ramsay

Challenge. Accepted.

There was just one problem. See, your usual “perfect scrambled eggs” is defined by a soft and very fluffy egg, one that is barely cooked, dangerously toeing the line between Raw and Done.

As an Asian, however, I’ve been trained to dislike anything even remotely resembling undercookedness. The equation goes like this:

Seems undercooked = possibly undercooked = bacteria = dangerous = death

In fact, I don’t even make salads at home, because they contain raw vegetables. I only eat salads at restaurants, because I trust a random dude at the back of the kitchen to wash vegetables for me, better than I can for myself. Stop being jealous; your life will never be as logical as mine.

Given that background, you can imagine why my definition of scrambled eggs was “thoroughly fried egg bits.”

photo-7
Exhibit C: Eggs in rigor mortis.

For years, I didn’t get what the deal was. There was nothing special about scrambled eggs. It was just like fried rice without the rice. Tough, chewy, salty. Couldn’t tell the difference between scrambled eggs and beef jerky.

And then I discovered the real meaning of scrambled eggs.

Perfect Scrambled Eggs

Notes: These eggs are fluffy. They are nice and salty. They are cooked to that sweet spot, just barely beyond the point at which my parents would have questioned their edibility.

Ingredients:

  • 3 eggs. Stop looking so surprised.
  • 2 tbsp milk. Approximately.
  • Dash of saltReduced sodium salt is like meatless mystery meat.

Steps:

1. Whisk eggs, milk, and salt together.

IMG_4740
Action shots make me feel like I have two hands. Wait…

2. Put on stovetop, thoroughly butter a skillet, and turn to Medium. No higher than Medium; low heat cooks the eggs slowly and ensures they retain moisture. Continue whisking. 

IMG_4741
I use a fork because I’m a hipster.

3. Keep whisking…

IMG_4742
It’s
IMG_4743
getting
IMG_4744
thicker

4. Take it off stove when it looks almost done. It will finish cooking in the hot skillet.

IMG_4746
They better keep cooking, or I’m gonna fry their yolks off.

The Eggstra Mile:

  • Sprinkle some of your favorite egg-herbs on it. I like to dress up my scrambled eggs with pepper, parsley, and basil. I’m weird, I know.

IMG_4766

Well, now that you’ve made perfect scrambled eggs, it’s time for you to graduate to perfect steamed eggs

They’re fantastegg.

25 Comments Add yours

  1. lukesilsby says:

    Great post, have eaten overcooked scrambled eggs to many times! will defiently be trying my scrambled eggs with fresh herbs from now on!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thanks! Hope you like this method of making eggs!

  2. Great post. Overcooked eggs are rubbery, amazing that so many prefer them that way.

  3. Glenda says:

    I’ve been making the perfect scrambled eggs forever, but I do NOT know how to cook! LOL. I can follow a recipe sometimes, but my own inventions in the kitchen are sparse, if any.

  4. Jaimee says:

    I use a fork to whisk mine too! haha! I’ve never tried parsley and basil before, will def be trying that!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yeah it’s quite a different taste! I dunno, I like it.

  5. LFFL says:

    Look at those lovely eggs! I can almost taste them.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thanks! Well the only way is to get out your skillet and cook ’em! 🙂

      1. LFFL says:

        I know, right?

  6. I love your blog!! I’m lmfao-ing!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha aw thanks! I’m glad I’m not just sitting here alone in a dark room laughing at my own jokes. 🙂

  7. cjosephrun says:

    I will be trying this as I tend to overcook my eggs. 😦

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha just be sure to take them off of the heat while they’re still somewhat liquidy! You can always reheat them later if they’re still liquidy after a few minutes, but you can’t go back and uncook an egg. Sadly.

  8. Sprinkling some dill in the eggs shortly before they are cooked makes a nice change.

    Ronnie.

  9. Hey Cici! I saw you were on my blog and I checked out your site and i LOOVE it!!! I’m going to start making those breakfasts for myself! They look healthy yet yummy. Can’t wait for morning! ❤

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Aw thanks! 🙂 Hope you enjoy!

  10. bamboogirl says:

    Eggsactly how my horrible scramble should have looked yesterday! When restaurants cannot make this, I rarely go back. Thank you for posting!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      No kidding! Sometimes I end up with eggs that clearly have flour added. (Um, I definitely didn’t order egg pancakes for $2…)

  11. Erin670 says:

    I have scrambled eggs everyday and this is DEFINITELY going to be tried out tomorrow. Thanks for this recipe!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      No problemo! Let me know if you like it! 🙂

      1. Erin670 says:

        I loved it! I need to be a bit quicker with the whisk/fork action in the pan but I believe I made better scrambled eggs.Thanks!

      2. Kitchen Cici says:

        Yay! Really happy it worked out!

  12. radhikasethi says:

    Thank you for liking my post. 🙂 These scrambled eggs look just perfect, I need to try this out so I can convert/ convince my hubby to have creamy scrambled eggs as opposed to the ones he likes (a bit dried out) ;). Cheers.

Tell me somethin'

