Salt & Vinegar Potato Stir-Fry

This is like salt and vinegar potato chips, except Asian and way healthier. The best part, though, is that this won’t make you feel like you’re pregnant with a seven-month food baby, as potato entrées usually do.

Unless you’re already seven months pregnant, in which case stir-fried potatoes won’t help either.

Potatoes are commonly stir-fried in China, but they’re usually not doused with vinegar; they’re mostly made spicy with red pepper flakes. Or they’re sold in the form of French fries in the nearest KFC, with a little bag of bright red ketchup and a little dose of ‘Merica. 

I like this sour version of potatoes, though, because it has that mouthwatering flavor that only vinegar can provide.

I also like it because I came up with this idea and I like my ideas.

I should start a food blog.

Salt & Vinegar Stir-Fried Potatoes

Notes: Okay, a more accurate name would be “Salt & Vinegar & Sugar Stir-Fried Potatoes,” but I figured I would lose you by the second word anyway, so I omitted the “sugar” part. Do add the sugar because sweetness gives it a nice little twist, on top of the vinegar twist. It’s like a game of Twister, and the only way you can win is to eat all of it. 

Taste & Texture: Nothing in this dish is overpowering, although you are welcome to add more vinegar if you’re having a particularly bad mouth day today. The ratio of ingredients below gives a mostly vinegar-y, but also a salty and slightly sweet taste. The potatoes turn out a little bit crispy but soft enough to chew without crunch. 

Ingredients:

  • 2 potatoesTater tots – (n.) children made out of potatoes. 
  • 1/4 cup vinegarHave you ever thought about how weird this word is? 
  • 1 tbsp sugar. It’s like vinegar, but the gar came from a su instead of a vine.
  • 1 tsp salt. Turning summer salts in the backyard.

Steps: 

1. Julienne the potatoes. Ooh a fancy cooking term. I feel fancy now.

image
I did it imperfectly on purpose. Makes it feel rustic.

2. Rinse with water 2-3 times. Until the water no longer turns a whitish color. 

3. Add into hot oil. Now stir and fry for a few minutes. 

4. Add in the vinegar, sugar, and salt. Taste to make sure you like the ratio. Keep stir-frying till the potato’s turned a clear white (instead of opaque white). This means the tater’s done. 

Well see? This will tide you over until you can buy the next bag of salt & vinegar potato chips.

image_1

I should really start a food blog.

20 Comments Add yours

  1. These look awesome! My friend and I have lately been having a great hankering for Vinegar! (goodness only knows why and you are right, it is a weird word!) But what kind of Vinegar do you use? I have some malt vinegar on hand that I love cooking with, do you think that would work?

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Malt vinegar has a sweeter & more complex taste than white vinegar (white vinegar is more in-your-face sour). So I might add less sugar. And also more malt vinegar, if it’s not sour enough after the 1/4 cup. Let me know if it works out!

      1. That’s Great! Thanks so much! I will have to go practice my Julienne skills now!

  2. Chad says:

    Always fun to see different ways of turning potatoes into somewhat healthy snacks. I’ve been experimenting a little with my food dehydrator and ways of making homemade chips (still trying to find a good slice thickness for dehydrating but have some good spice blends). Saw the about you post and someday a stand mixer will be good. I don’t have one either as of yet, but you can still do some really good baking- posted a caked on my page the other day. Keep up the good food and posts

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thanks! And yeah, homemade chips are impossible without good mandolin skills. Do you oven-bake the chips or are we talking fried?

      1. Chad says:

        bit of a different technique. Basically mandoline slice, then quick boil then cold water shock and lay out on sheets with paper towel to absorb water. Oil, season and dehydrate.

      2. Kitchen Cici says:

        That sounds ridiculously healthy. How does the texture compare to traditional chips?

      3. Chad says:

        Im still working out th details in terms of slice thickness as I grossly underestimated the amount the potato slices thin out while dehydrating but they do come out nice and crisp. They do taste rather good and you get to pick your own seasonings. I did a combo of sea salt, ancho chile, and a few other spices, could really do just about anything with them.

      4. Kitchen Cici says:

        That sounds awesome!

  3. Bubble Child says:

    Perfect combination of vinegar to oil for these fries! I soaked my julienned potatoes in water for 30 minutes to remove the starch instead of rinsing several times so I could do other things in the meantime. Great recipe… love your blog.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Ahh I’m so glad you liked these!! 🙂 x 50000

  4. Nikki Madigan says:

    Wow these look really good! I might have to try them!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yep, they are quite good!

  5. Hey there: How much oil do you fry them in? Two tablespoons? I’m guessing I’m not going for a Fry Daddy operation here.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Hahaha it depends on how big your skillet is, but I like just a thin layer of oil for a stir fry. Just enough to cover the bottom of the pan when you tilt it around a bit.

  6. jayme 6 faith blog says:

    wow! it looks deliciously healthy!

Tell me somethin'

