Healthier Rocky Road

Today, I wanted to eat mass quantities of crunchy chocolate-covered objects without feeling like an elephant.

I think that’s fair.

Today was also the day I re-discovered the big box of plain shredded wheat that’s been loitering in the pantry for 5 months. I know it’s healthy and whole grains and fiber and love and peace and nuclear warfare, but I prefer my shredded wheat covered in frosted sugar and drowned in cold milk.

I wanted healthy chocolate-covered crunchy things, and the shredded wheat was both healthy and crunchy.

So I decided to kill two birds with one stone. I took a stone, threw it at two birds, and missed.

I sighed, went back inside, and decided to concoct a healthier rocky road.

Healthier Rocky Road

Notes: The chocolate syrup I use is made with honey, which means it won’t harden completely, even when you put it in the freezer. This makes for a slightly chewy rocky road, but the shredded wheat still lends it crunchiness. If you don’t have/want/like honey, you can also substitute coconut oil, corn syrup, or agave nectar — these will result in a more solid chocolate rocky road.

Ingredients:

• 1 cup red wheat puffs + shredded wheat. But you can use pretty much anything puffy and/or crunchy: millet puffs, cocoa puffs, nuts, granola, rocks, roads, etc. This is a great way to recycle those uneaten cereals.

• 1/4 cup dark chocolate. In the form of chips, bars, bunnies, eggs, or semi trucks.

• 1 tbsp honey (or coconut oil, agave nectar, or any kind of syrup).

Steps:

1. Melt together chocolate and honey (or sticky liquid of choice). You can use a microwave. Add more honey as necessary to form a somewhat-thick syrup.

2. Combine everything in a bowl. Get everything coated in chocolate as much as possible.

3. Freeze for 20 minutes. The longer the better. Meanwhile, stare at the clock until 20 minutes have passed.

Now. Eat one bite, then another. Do you feel like an elephant yet?

Me neither.

IMG_5018

This means we need to eat more.

Two-Ingredient Chocolate Syrup
Two-Ingredient Choco Syrup
30-Minute Spiced Chicken
30-Minute Spiced Chicken
Sweet & Sour Ribs
Sweet & Sour Ribs
Delicious Steamed Eggs
Delicious Steamed Eggs
Guacamole With a Twist
Guacamole With a Twist
15 Comments Add yours

  1. I love your sense of humor!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Heehee shanks. 🙂

  2. KerryCan says:

    Fun reading! But I like my chocolate straight! 😉

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha yeah, that’s the best, it’s true.

  3. MamaD1xx4xy says:

    We would probably love this…big fans of shredded wheat here. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      You’re welcome! 🙂 Let me know how you like it!

  4. i am super excited about this recipe! // looks so delicious!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha I’m glad you’re excited about it! Hope you enjoy 🙂

  5. Siiiiiiiiinful! I feel naughty just looking at that!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha you’re not supposed to!!!!

  6. Yum-o! Early morning alarm is currently dulling my senses and seriously causing me to question the shredded wheat. Arg.
    Does it soften at all during the 20 minutes? All I can imagine is it sticking in my teeth.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha it doesn’t soften much at all. I’m not too bothered by it because it’s kind of masked by the chocolate, but you can feel free to sub anything you want!

      1. Awesome, thanks for the heads up 🙂

  7. This looks delicious 🙂
    I love the fact that it made healthier as well – Its always refreshing to know that indulgent food doesn’t have to be deadly 😛

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Absolutely! It only has to be deadly delicious.

Tell me somethin'

