Dark Chocolate Nutella Without Oil

IMG_5230

Let me brag about this first. 

This Nutella has 3.4 g of monounsaturated fat, 1.8g of protein, and 1.6g of fiber in every tablespoon. 

It also tastes like a darker cousin of your favorite why-do-I-even-need-toast-I’ll-just-eat-it-out-of-the-can hazelnut spread. It’s like that one time your cousin went to the beach and got ten shades tanner than you did and you got jealous.

Practically green with envy.

While this boasts a better-looking nutrition profile than Nutella, it’s still not exactly low-calorie (if you use regular sugar, instead of other sweeteners), nor is it low-fat.

But that’s a good thing, do you know why? Because hazelnuts are nutrient-dense, and if a shady character on the street comes up to you one day and offers you fat-free, zero-calorie Nutella, you better run the other way because you can be sure that Nutella ain’t made of hazelnuts. 

But this—this Nutella is made of hazelnuts. 

And dreams.

Dark Chocolate Nutella

Notes: Other non-sugar sweeteners may be substituted, in which case you would need to add less milk.

Nutrition Facts here. (Regular Nutella is on the left, my Nutella is on the right. Same 1tbsp serving size.)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup hazelnuts
  • 4 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 4 tbsp powdered sugar
  • 3 tbsp milk
  • dash of coffee granules
  • dash of salt
  • dash of vanilla extract

Steps:

Using a food processor, chop everything except milk until you have tiny small minuscule granules (about 5 minutes). Then add in milk one tbsp at a time until it forms a paste of the desired consistency.

Desired consistency. I desire this consistency.

I also desire a consistency in the presence of Dark Nutella in my fridge.

IMG_5230

I require it. 

35 Comments Add yours

  1. I love Nutella but I am going to try this recipe since it seems a little bit healthier, and dark chocolate has lots of health benefits

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yeah the higher ratio of cocoa powder to everything else does give it a health boost!

  2. Rodica Iova says:

    Ah! Do you know what you did to me?
    Imagine this: you wake up, get your coffee, get on your laptop and then bang! this image hits you like a hammer.
    Ah, again! You know how to keep your community close to you. Love it.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Aw I’m so happy you enjoyed this! 🙂

  3. i’m a fan of all recipes w/ nutella as an ingredient // & healthier nutella–even better!

  4. My mouth is watering… I need to try this!

  5. Yummy! So much healthier than store-bought Nutella and packed with good nutrients. I need to try making this–thanks for sharing!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yep, it’s not the healthiest food ever but hey, it beats the store-bought any day. You do need to try this! It’s so easy too 🙂 Enjoy!

  6. 3moonmama says:

    I have some filbert trees and am so going to make this if I get enough from the harvest! (Maybe I’ll just have to buy some too!)

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Ooh fresh hazelnuts would probably make this 100 times better!! Enjoy.

  7. KerryCan says:

    Looks wonderful! And not too hard to make . . .

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Usually that’s my code for “be right back going to go buy some ingredients now and make this and eat all of it”

  8. Hazelnuts? Dark Chocolates?! I think you’re a genius. It’s a really good thing I don’t have a food processor because I don’t know how I’d stop myself eating this for every meal of the day if I could make it…

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha if you were really dedicated you could use a blender. But that would take real dedication to your Nutella!

  9. thefirstthings says:

    Yum! Have you tried cookie butter? That’s another eat-out-of-the-jar goodness. Maybe you could try making a version of that too! *wink-wink*

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Hahaha I’ve already tried a few times! You have no idea, it’s kind of difficult to get the flavor right (especially with the easier-to-get ingredients I’m experimenting with), but maybe it’ll be easier with the food processor that I found recently. Don’t worry, it’s in my mind! I just have to get back to experimenting.

  10. catchingzee says:

    This looks so soooo good!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thanks! You should try it 🙂

  11. Foodstuffclt says:

    This looks delicious! I may have to experiment this weekend. Good work.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Experiment away! 🙂 Enjoy!

  12. This recipe seems super simple! Will need to try this out. I wonder if some other nuts can be substituted to make the spread? i.e. cashew nuts. Just that haven’t got hazel nuts on hand. Don’t understand why they need to add so much oil to it!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yeah definitely! Cashew butter sounds good too! It won’t taste like Nutella though, haha.

      1. It would be a pretty low fat chocolate spread, since cashew nuts are one of the lowest fat nuts 🙂 I will experiment with zero sugar. Thanks for the awesome idea!

  13. Thank you for this recipe!! We’re going to have to try making it, considering we have some nutella addicts in our midst!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      You’re welcome! The world is full of Nutella addicts, this girl included.

  14. jaime denis says:

    I’m gonna have to try this. Will let you know how I get on. Love your “About” – I also love cooking and experimenting and hate following recipes.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thank you! Let me know how it goes. 🙂

  15. Now THAT looks delicious!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      it IS delicious! 🙂

  16. I didn’t even realize you could make nutella at home until now! I guess I might’ve thought you’d need pixie dust or something. Thank you for enlightening me!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha no problem! Hope you enjoy!

  17. Feamand says:

    Reblogged this on Feamand Says and commented:
    Kitchen Cici – Dark Chocolate Nutella Without Oil.

    Everything that involves Nutella and healthy, is definitely a win-win situation.

Tell me somethin'

