All-Natural Snow Cones

IMG_5238

For some reason, snow cones (or “sno cones,” if you’re young & wild & free) are perceived as healthy. I have no idea why, as it’s just frozen water drizzled liberally with artificially-flavored corn syrup.

It kind of reminds me of soda.

But you see, it’s mostly made of water, and water is healthy. Let’s ignore the “corn syrup” part for a minute.

Okay the minute is up. Time to face the truth: Harry Potter is fictional.

And snow cones are also made of corn syrup.

And I did eat the last slice of cake in the fridge.

Sorry. 

All Natural Snow Cone

Ingredients:

  • 2 cup pitted cherries
  • 1/2 cup water

Steps:

1. Blend or process together cherries and water until it’s nice and mixed.

I think the miscellaneous pots in the background add a nice touch. I included them on purpose, duh.
I think the miscellaneous pots in the background add a nice touch. I included them on purpose, duh.

2. Pour into a baking pan and toss in freezer.

It's like a cherry marsh.
It’s like a cherry marsh. Don’t think too hard about it or you’ll lose your appetite.

3. After 30 minutes, scrape up the solidified ice with a spoon, and put everything back in the fridge. Repeat this process until you’ve scraped up the entire baking pan.

Shampoo, rinse, scrape, repeat.
Shampoo, rinse, scrape, repeat.

Now consume in aggressively large quantities.

IMG_5237

What a beauty.

Maybe she’s born with it. Maybe it’s Maybelline-Sno-Cone.

IMG_5242

I am going to get sued so bad if I ever catch companies’ attentions.

20 Comments Add yours

  1. ankline13 says:

    This is a great idea, thank you!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      You’re welcome 🙂

  2. Vickie says:

    There is something about sno cones that bring back a little bit of childhood….no matter how they are made. Great idea.

  3. LucyBre says:

    Hey! If you have a bit of time, I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Blogging Award! I posted about it here 😉 http://beingweirdlyawesome.wordpress.com/2013/08/22/ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh-ive-been-nominated-for-the-liebster-blog-award/

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Aw thanks!! I’m honored :3

  4. Absolutely love this recipe! So easy and I’ve got some great black cherries that I’m going to make this with. I just wanted to let you know I also included it in my weekly round-up. This edition was gluten-free recipes. Lots of Love! LB

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Awesome, thanks! I’m glad you enjoyed this!!

  5. catchingzees says:

    Hey! I just nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award! Check it out here http://catchingzee.wordpress.com/2013/08/26/someone-else- and congrats!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Aw thanks!! I’m so glad you enjoy what I do 🙂

  6. I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award because your recipes are all unique, hilarious and the ones I cook are absolutely delish.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Aw thanks!! I’m so glad you enjoy the stuff I post 🙂 It makes me very happy that people out there like it!

  7. This looks delicious and healthy! (We’re still forgetting about the corn syrup; our minute isn’t up yet 🙂 )

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha cool! Glad you enjoy the idea of it.

  8. Tammimi says:

    I have made this before with watermelon “juice” in the vitamix. It’s the best. My kids love shaved ice…but we skip out on the syrup and they are happy with just the ice. It’s so strange. I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. If you haven’t already been nominated, you can accept it here: http://gmofreegirl.wordpress.com/2013/10/05/liebster-award/ Keep up the fun posts. I love your site!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Oh gosh — thank you for the nomination! 🙂 it means a lot to me that people actually enjoy this a little bit! And yes, shaved ice is so easy and versatile, perfect for the last days of summer (aka first days of fall since except summer is officially over)!

  9. Have you tried any other fruits? I just don’t like cherries. 😦 Think strawberries or blueberries would work?

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Absolutely! Anything with a high sugar content would suffice. Strawberries probably, blueberries are a little more iffy. Feel free to experiment and lemme know what happens!

    2. Kitchen Cici says:

      Hey! 4 months later, I’m still pondering your question.
      Who am I kidding, I just now saw this. But yes—any other fruit should work just fiiine!

Tell me somethin'

