Crispy Crunchy Wraps

IMG_5205

You take a bite.

The warm tortilla crunches soundly against your teeth, breaking into brittle shards as the delicious contents reveal themselves to your taste buds.

I should be a novelist.

Fries and Burger
I would specialize in unlikely romances.

But really, this is solid stuff right here.

And all you need is a broiler. As in, no worries that your stove might explode electric sparks on you, like that last time you innocently tried to reheat leftover stir-fry. 

It’s basically baked American cannoli with Mexican tortillas and grilled chicken. A smidge of the American Dream, a little bit of rising prosperity, a chance to eat more and more crispy crunchy wraps every day at every meal. 

I’m all about that diversity. 

Crispy Crunchy Wraps

Notes: I sincerely hope you know how to make a wrap. If so, include any ingredients you fancy. If not, go back to Start and replay the game of life. 

Ingredients:

  • wrap material: tortillas, spinach wraps, wheat wraps, etc.
  • filling: chicken, steak, cheese, lettuce, rice, beans, onions, pico de gallo, soybeans, chickpeas, peas, chicks, etc.

Steps:

Cut everything into strips.  I just used seasoned brown rice, chicken, and lettuce. 

Some assembly required.
Some assembly required.

Assemble the wrap.

IMG_5184
Break out your screwdriver and nails.

Now fold it messily and place on a oven-safe object.

How does Taco Bell do it?
How does Taco Bell do it?

Broil for 4 minutes a side, watching closely as it browns. 

Oh my glorious wrap.
Oh my glorious wrap.

The Extra Mile:

  1. Make this a breakfast burrito. Just use some eggs, ham, green onions, etc. 
  2. Make the outside extra crispy and delicious. Before broiling, just brush on just a thin layer of oil.

IMG_5205

You know what? Diversity is better in large numbers.

This wrap represents diversity.

I think you can guess what I’m trying to say.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Nancy says:

    Thanks to your “like” at my site I found yours. I’m so glad I did! You have a fantastic blog with fabulous looking food. The “voice” you write in urges me to keep reading! Bravo to you college bound Kitchen Cici 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thank you! I’m so glad you like my site 🙂

  2. theyoungerj says:

    Not only have I gained an easy and tasty recipe, I also found the “if you don’t know how to make a wrap, restart the game of life” comment incredibly amusing. Well played.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha I’m very very glad you liked that one. 🙂

  3. Oh wow…mouth is watering!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      I’m no psychologist, but I think that’s a sign you’re missing this from your life.

      1. So funny! Especially since I’m a psych student. I believe you are 100% correct 😉

  4. carolfroom says:

    Sounds good and simple – perfect!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Good & simple is mah style 🙂

  5. These look delicious! I really like your site — I hope you keep it going through college!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thank you! I hope so too! 🙂

  6. Oh yum! A healthy option for when I’m craving deep fried crunch!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yes!! Baking is amazing because it can sometimes take the place of frying!

  7. damoose420 says:

    Wow! That looks delicious !

Tell me somethin'

