Crispy Waffle Bits

IMG_4780

Here’s a semi-good college cafeteria story:

So in my school cafeteria there’s this breakfast bar, where you fill out an order form and they make pancakes/waffles/scrambled eggs on the spot. I’m a fan of breakfast, and a fan of ordering oversized plates of food, so it’s perfect.

This was a Tuesday morning between the hours of 7:00am and 8:00am, the moon was in its waxing crescent phase, the sun had risen at 6:42am, and Jupiter was 22º from the northern horizon—this could mean only one thing.

I would be eating a Belgian waffle and an egg, over medium, for breakfast.

So I filled out the little paper slip indicating my deepest breakfast desires. I sat down and waited.

Five minutes later, my name was abruptly shouted in an excruciatingly loud manner. As I approached the counter, I squinted a little in confusion. Wait a second, I thought. Was this happening?

What evil cook puts a fried egg on top of a Belgian waffle?

Questions ran through my mind. How do I even dump syrup over this dastardly contraption? Should I dump syrup over it? Should I eat the egg first then come back and dump syrup over it? Should I eat the egg if it’s been contaminated with waffle? Should I eat the waffle if it’s been contaminated with egg? Was this the biggest first world problem ever? Should I tweet about it?

My eyes grew wider as I considered the worst possibility: Did the moisture from the egg make the waffle… soggy?

Look, now. Waffles are supposed to be warm and crispy with a slight hint of sweet and buttery. The syrup accentuates the sweetness of the waffle, emphasizes its warmth, and contrasts its crispiness. When your waffle isn’t crispy, then, you’re left with a soggy sugar buttery mess.

Mississippi_Mud_Cake-3
Actually that doesn’t look bad.

But it’s the surface of the waffle that gives it crispiness. So what if we increased that surface area?

What if, instead of having a flat waffle, we had waffle bits? It would increase the surface-area-to-volume ratio, which meant more crispiness for the same amount of waffle.

What can I say, I’m pretty much Einstein. Now give me my Nobel Prize in Wafflery.

Crispy Waffle Bits

Notes: I suppose you could use pre-packaged waffle or pancake mix, but prepare to be judged. I’m Einstein by day and Big Brother by night.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 2 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 2 tablespoon melted butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Steps:
1. Heat up a pan to Medium. Coat with a little bit of butter.

2. Mix first four ingredients in a bowl, then mix last four ingredients in another bowl. 

3. Mix wet ingredients into dry ingredients. Slow and steady does it. 

IMG_4739
My photography skills just get better with every passing day.

4. Pour some batter into the pan. Let it solidify for a few Mississippis.

Definition of the word “some” is up to you
Definition of the words “some” and “Mississippi” are up to you

 

6. Scramble it all together.

Go into Egg Scramble Mode
Go into Egg Scramble Mode

 

Take out revenge for all of the failed pancakes you've made in your life.
Take out revenge for all of the failed pancakes you’ve made in your life.

The Extra Mile

  1. Drizzle in a few gallons of syrup. Obviously.
  2. Enjoy with Perfect Scrambled Eggs. If you’re feeling especially scrambled on a particular morning. 

IMG_4777

What mode do you assume when you’re eating breakfast?

IMG_4780

I always prefer Hungry College Student Mode.

11 Comments Add yours

  1. I just love your writing style! You take what could otherwise be a boring thing to read about and make it entertaining and funny….and the human is going to make this fur breakfast in the morning!! (I just haven’t told her yet)!

    Good job, human!

    Shrimp

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha thanks! I’m so glad you enjoy my writing; sometimes I’m not sure if it’s actually amusing or just plain flat. Hope you enjoy! 🙂

  2. zynb291 says:

    I dont eat shrimps but this recipe looks delicious

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      That’s okay no shrimps were used in the making of this recipe

  3. Cool, a waffle that doesn’t require a waffle maker!

  4. First, you’re hilarious. Second, you definitely DO deserve the Nobel Prize in Wafflery. And third….Crispy Waffle Bits? Can we be best friends? 😉

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yes, we can gorge ourselves on Nutella while watching Harry Potter!!

  5. Waffle fan! Breakfast lover! This works for me!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Both those terms quite accurately describe me as well!

Tell me somethin'

