All-Natural Microwave Granola

You read that right.

Crunchy granola in less than 5 minutes. No ovens involved. It’s pretty darn healthy too—none of that brown evaporated cane syrup rice juice business.

I’ve actually been making it in my dorm room for quite some time, although I’m not entirely sure if my roommate approves of our room consistently smelling like warm granola.

On an unrelated note, I’ve figured out that if you give people enough food, they lose their ability to complain/protest/talk.

I must warn you, however, that granola can and will get burned in the microwave. I’m just glad I haven’t set off the building’s fire alarms yet, because I’m not sure how I could explain making granola using a microwave at 11:30pm on a Saturday night in my bright blue Hello Kitty pajama shorts.

With a spoonful of Nutella in one hand and a Harry Potter movie in the other.

Haters gonna hate.
Haters gonna hate.

When it comes to dorm neighbors, some things are better left unknown.

All-Natural Microwave Granola

Notes: This is delightfully crispy when it’s freshly made, but it unfortunately doesn’t stay that way for more than a few hours. Fortunately, it is entirely possible to consume the entire batch in one short sitting. I have tried many times, and also succeeded many times without trying.

Also, I’ve left out the quantities of each ingredient—because granola should be spontaneous, fun, and wild.

Ingredients

  • old-fashioned oats. Your mom and other recipe sources have told you many times but I’m going to say it again: not the quick oats.
  • honey. Or agave nectar, or anything sticky sweet.
  • nuts. If you haven’t eaten all of them during your midnight snacking rampages.
  • dried fruits. Optional.
  • cinnamon. Slightly less optional.

Steps:

  1. Put everything in a bowl and mash together until there’s a thin layer of honey coating everything.

    That's the way uh huh uh huh
    That’s the way uh huh uh huh
  2. Now pop it in the microwave and heat for one minute, or until the oats are a nice sizzling golden brown. Stir occasionally and keep your eye on it!
  3. Take it out, lay it flat, and let it cool. As it cools, it gets crunchy. As it gets crunchy, you get happy.

    Sunbathing; it's rude to stare.
    Sunbathing; it’s rude to stare.

The Extra Mile:

  • Add some cocoa powder or shredded coconut or whatever you have on hand that happens to be in small bits.
  • Add real chocolate. Watch it melt into delicious ribbons. 

Now: Imagine this on a soft pillowy bed of strawberry yogurt. Imagine this drowned in milk. Imagine this immersed in dreamy Nutella.

image-8

I think my salivary glands are misfiring.

20 Comments Add yours

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      I can attest to that.

  1. pianolearner says:

    I don’t have a microwave, so might try this in a regular oven. Looks very tasty 🙂

  2. Unsure "Adult" says:

    Reblogged this on Boo's & Ooo's and commented:
    I was just thinking about granola. 🙂

  3. sewloveable says:

    I can’t wait to try this. This will be a great quick on the go snack love it!!!!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yep! It’s so easy. Hope you like it!! 🙂

  4. Heather C says:

    I love my fresh made oven granola. I wonder why this won’t stay crunchy though. Boo 😦 It would save me so much time!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yeah, I have the same problem with cookies… Have you tried keeping it airtight?

      1. Heather C says:

        When I make it in the oven, I store it in the fridge in a ziplock. It stays plenty crunchy. But it has to cook for an hour and be flipped/stirred every 10 minutes.

      2. Kitchen Cici says:

        Yeah, it’s hard to make granola stay crunchy. Although I must say you have quite the patience to let it bake for an hour. Have you found that an hour of baking is better than, say, 25 minutes?

      3. Heather C says:

        I haven’t tried anything shorter. It’s so good in the end that the patience is worth it. 🙂

  5. I love granola! I like how simple this is to prepare 😀

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Simple indeed! I hope you try this and enjoy it!

  6. Joanna says:

    cool ! I’ll give it a try 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Let me know how it goes! I love feedback. 🙂

  7. miyoreos says:

    This looks perfect! I’ve got to try this! I love granola, but have a hard time finding a good one for me because I’m allergic to soy and most granolas have soy products in it. Thanks!

    ps. I just nominated you for an award! You can check it out at my blog: http://lessaveursdemimi.wordpress.com/2013/11/01/happy-halloween

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      You’re welcome! I hope you enjoy it! And thank you for the award–I’m so glad you’re enjoying my writing!!

  8. Leyla says:

    yummy yummy

  9. The Writer says:

    Wait. Wait wait wait. Granola…in the microwave? This is a thing? How did I not know this was a thing??
    I think I’m going to like following you. A lot. 😀

    -The Parishioner

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      YES it’s a thing! You never know what college dorm life will do to your culinary imagination! And oh no pressure’s on… I hope I don’t disappoint! 🙂

Tell me somethin'

