Wholesome Baked Eggs

Sometimes, you just want a simple, healthy breakfast.

But you can’t muster the enthusiasm to fry eggs, and lord knows what would happen if you attempted eggs benedict after a solid 4.25 hours of sleep.

Don’t try to visualize it.

You have a situation on your hands. A dilemma. At this inhumanely early hour, you are the sole, tired-eyed witness to the continuous existential struggle between easy and delicious and healthy.

But you know how to resolve this issue. You take out your eggs, veggies, and a bowl…

*superhero theme song*

Wholesome Baked Eggs

Notes: With this recipe, you get two serving of delicious eggs. Also, this is for the people out there who like a somewhat runny egg yolk. Like me. And you. And all of the people.

Ingredients:
• 2 eggs
• 4 slices turkey  Only because we were plum out of bacon.
• 1/2 green bell pepper
• 2 cloves garlic
• 2 mushrooms
• 2 heads green onion
• dash of salt & pepper

Steps:
1. Preheat your oven to 350F and slice up all of your veggies.

OMG so artsy gotta Instagram
OMG so artsy gotta Instagram

2. Saute together all of the non-egg ingredients.

Gotta love sauté pans
Gotta love small sauté pans

3. Divide your veggies into two cute ramekins/baking cups and admire.

This is only one of them, obviously
This is only one of them, in case you were confused

4. Crack an egg over each of the warm sauteed breakfast delights.

Mm mmm good
That egg doesn’t know what’s about to hit it

5. Bake for 15 minutes. Check your oven occasionally to make sure your eggs stay happy. 

Happy happy egg
Basically my facial expression every breakfast time

The Extra Mile:
• Craving an extra kick? Top with some Sriracha or another spicy sauce.
• No time in the morning? Bake the night before and microwave (on medium heat for 3 minutes) when you’re ready to nom.

Breakfast of champions right here. And guess who’s the champion.

You. And me. And all of the people.

21 Comments Add yours

  1. FoodisMyZen says:

    YUM…..I just munched n now I want wholesome baked eggs

  2. Kristen R. says:

    Yum! I love baked eggs. I do a little spinach, parm and bacon but will have to try your veggies next time.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Oh man, your combo sounds really good! We’re just not huge cheese-eaters over here, but next time I’ll get my hands on some parmesan!

  3. Nathan Dulce says:

    i laughed at the instagram part! lol!

  4. lifeBelle says:

    You Inspire Me! I have just nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award. Here is a link to my post for you to accept the award:http://lifesrawessentials.wordpress.com/2013/12/14/very-inspiring-blogger-award-and-nominees/

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thank you so much! 🙂 this makes me happpy!!

      1. lifeBelle says:

        You’re welcome 🙂 well earned with all that yummy food!

  5. Deena Kakaya says:

    What a lively, fresh and scrumptious looking meal x

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Indeed! I can only imagine how amazing this would be with garden-fresh veggies and fresh eggs!

  6. Dewi says:

    Hey!
    I’ve selected you for the Blog of the Year Award 2013. Check out the post below for more details 🙂
    http://boycancook.wordpress.com/2013/12/15/blog-of-the-year-award-2013/

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thanks so much! I love your blog also and this is the first time I’ve been nominated for this! You’re awesome. 🙂

  7. Pang says:

    What a nice meal to make on a cold day 🙂

  8. dietbeach says:

    This looks great, I want to make it right now. I also like your happy face egg!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Heehee thank you! 🙂

  9. kbaked says:

    looks incredible.

  10. cleanscents says:

    Oh wow this looks amazing! I’d love to try this recipe out one day 🙂

  11. Jennifer G says:

    Mmmmm… I love breakfast! I shared a link to this post on my blog to share the breakfast goodness.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thank you thank you! I am honored. 🙂

Tell me somethin'

