Chocolate Biscotti

IMG_6583

Those Italians are culinary geniuses. This chocolate biscotti is so good. I’m addicted. 

Stating the obvious aside, this biscotti is so good. 

Also, those Italians are culinary geniuses and I’m addicted.

If you’ve never had biscotti, now is your delicious chance. If you’ve never made biscotti in your own kitchen, it’s now time for you to realize just how straight-forward the process is. 

I think the best part of biscotti is the texture: so crunchy and crumbly. They’re an awesome snack on their own, and an absolute delight when dipped in coffee. When dipped in milk, this chocolate biscotti is like fancy, crunchy Oreos. 

So good. Italians geniuses. Cici addicted.

Chocolate Biscotti

This biscotti turned out to have a richer chocolate flavor than I’d anticipated, although it’s by no means decadent. That’s perfectly fine—this biscotti isn’t supposed to hit you over the head, it’s supposed to give your brain a healthy dose of chocolate comfort food. The texture is awesome. It’s a little crumbly but mostly crunchy, and even keeps its texture after being left out for a few days. When you first take them out of the oven and let it cool, they might seem too hard, but they get better with age: after the first night, they get less dry-crunchy and more crumbly-crunchy. If that makes any sense at all.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp coffee extract (or instant coffee granules)
  • 2.5 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder

Steps

Preheat oven to 375°F. Whisk together oil, eggs, sugar, and coffee extract (or coffee granules). Then add in the flour, cocoa powder, and baking powder.

IMG_6559

Shape into two logs, each 1/2-inch thick. This is a pretty sticky dough, so mentally prepare yourself and don’t say I didn’t warn you because I just did. Bam.

IMG_6561

Bake for 30 minutes. Take it out and let it cool, then cut it up into 1/2-inch strips.

IMG_6568

Bake for another 20-30 minutes, flipping them over halfway through.

See? That wasn’t difficult at all. If you want to be fancy, you can even drizzle white chocolate over them (just cut open a corner of a sandwich bag and use it to squeeze out melted white chocolate). Don’t know about you, but I think white chocolate on a dark chocolate background is my kinda color combo.

IMG_6575

You know what makes these even better? Dip these in steaming and aromatic coffee. Or sweet and homey hot chocolate. Or just a cup o’ cold breakfast milk. Biscotti are so awesome, they don’t even get soggy. Do it. Do it. Do it.  

IMG_6583

A perfectly delightful treat, breakfast or otherwise. 

Other chocolatey treats:

Dark Chocolate Nutella (Without Oil!)
Dark Chocolate Nutella (Without Oil!)
Two-Ingredient Chocolate Syrup
Two-Ingredient Chocolate Syrup
Dark Chocolate Tofu Mousse
Healthy Chocolate Mousse

Visit Kitchen Cici on Facebook!

29 Comments Add yours

  1. this makes me wish i hadn’t sworn off sugar for a year! looks delicious!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha aw shucks! Perhaps you could substitute something!

      1. now you are talking! haha. true, i probably could!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Mmm mmm you’re tellin’ me!

  2. what a luscious delicious looking choco biscotti, one of my grandmas signature…

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Was she Italian? Haha this isn’t authentic Italian but it tastes fantastic nonetheless!

  3. This chocolate biscotti looks incredible. It’s something I have yet to try and make, and honestly I thought it would be much more difficult. Thanks for the recipe! X

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yes, I love that it’s not so tedious as you’d think!

  4. They definitely go in coffee for us.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Delicious. I just have a penchant for treating everything chocolatey like an Oreo.

  5. s0ymilk says:

    this looks absolutely sinful! It makes me want to grab a cup coffee with this, and i don’t even like coffee!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      The sinful-er the delicious-er!

  6. Looks delicious! Would go perfect with a cup of coffee 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      It would! I just love milk. I think I’m a cat.

      1. I nominated you for the Shine On Award! Participation is optional, but please stop by my page if you’re interested in passing it on 🙂
        http://morefoodpls.wordpress.com/2013/12/31/shine-on-award/

      2. Kitchen Cici says:

        Thank you! 🙂 I’m so happy you actually enjoy my writing, haha!

  7. pianolearner says:

    They look very tasty. 🙂 I was lucky to receive some homemade biscotti from my wife (wellywoman) this christmas, they were cherry, pistachio, hazlenut and lemon. mmmmm!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Cherry, pistachio, hazelnut, and lemon all wrapped up in one biscotti? Interesting flavors!

  8. Ahila says:

    This looks delightful! I will try it out. I have nominated you for the Dragon’s Loyalty Award -http://wp.me/p3Nc97-ja.
    Wish you a wonderful New Year!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thank you so much for the nomination! 🙂 This makes me so happy. And when you do try it (not if), let me know how it goes!

      1. Ahila says:

        I did try out the vegan version of this recipe today and it turned out quite good. I think I added a bit too much flour as the cups I used for the flour and the rest of the ingredients was different so the result didn’t look as good as yours but it is good. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

      2. Kitchen Cici says:

        You’re welcome!! I’m glad you liked your version 🙂

  9. Jenny B says:

    These look amazing! Perfect with a cup or tea or hot chocolate! They texture looks spot on! Thanks for sharing!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      And thank *you* for reading! And yes you must try this! 🙂

  10. My mouth is watering…

  11. Tasty, looking forward to trying. Thanks for visiting my blog. Yours is nice to.

Tell me somethin'

