Sweet ‘n Buttery Carrots

IMG_6497

What can you do when you wake up one day and find that 6 pounds of carrots have found their way into your fridge?

Well, you could make carrot muffins, carrot cake, and carrot soup, but that will only get you so far. What you need to do is eat straight carrot. I’m sorry, there is no other way. 

But what’s wrong with carrots? They’re just not as glamorous as edamame or snap peas. Maybe it’s their bright orange color, or their eccentric shape. But let me tell you: carrots are the most underestimated inhabitants of your refrigerator. 

Ask yoda just.
Ask yoda just.

Don’t mess with the carrot. Especially when it comes with this subtle yet flavorful tinge.

Sweet ‘n Buttery Carrots

A hint of buttery taste, a hint of sweet brown sugar, delivered on a soft and delicious carrot. The best of both worlds. Ah, I bet you didn’t think carrots could be absolutely divine. 

Ingredients

  • 10 large carrots
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar

Steps

Chop up the carrots at a nice angle. 

I prefer 43.5°
The 43.5° angle works well for me

Now boil ’em until they’re soft. This takes shorter than you’d expect, about 8 minutes. 

Looking radiant
Looking more radiant than my face after a good chocolate chip cookie

Now toss in the butter and brown sugar. Stir around to melt them.

Oh my word…

Easy? Easy. 

Delicious? Mmmphyeshmmmph. *gulp*

IMG_6497

Delicious.

Are you in a veggie mood?

Red Wine Vinegar & Mushrooms
Red Wine Vinegar Onion & Mushrooms
Guacamole With a Twist
Guacamole With a Twist
Salt & Vinegar Potato Stir-Fry
Salt & Vinegar Potato Stir-Fry

Visit Kitchen Cici on Facebook!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Carrots are definitely underestimated! I’ve been juicing them, but I also enjoy eating them roasted.

  2. aishasoasis says:

    Here in Egypt, carrots and turnips are pickled in salty water with a little vinegar and given to customers at ta’mia (egyptian name for falafel) stands – this is the equivalent of getting a few salt packets with your fast food, as we don’t have much else in the way of fast food, and if you ask for a packet of salt they will think you are crazy! The carrot pickles are my favorite, and taste wonderful on a falafel sandwich!

  3. pianolearner says:

    They are great roasted, that way their natural sweetness comes through especially if you let the edges get a little brown.

  4. Laura says:

    I had to learn to like carrots – but now I adore them! This is another great way to enjoy them!

  5. Haley says:

    My mom would make our carrots this way growing up. Not only was it easy for her to make, but it helped us eat our vegetables! I just took care of 2 1/2 pounds of carrots by making carrot soup. Now I know what I will do with any leftover carrots in the fridge!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Carrot soup sounds deliciousss!!

Tell me somethin'

