Scrumptious Oatmeal Carrot Muffins

Do you fear the muffin man? I used to.

But these simple little muffins changed everything.

Now, you might recall that in the Kitchen Cici episode “Seriously Amazing Blueberry Muffins,” there were quite a few careful steps. I mean, those amazing blueberry muffins took some real deep-seafood-fried cooking patience.

I have no idea what I just said.

Don’t get me wrong—I love my pretty, perfect, delicious muffins. I just don’t want to go through 11 steps of salivating torture while I’m hungry, tired, and dressed in my fuzzy farm-animal pajama pants.

For some reason bacon-and-pancake pajamas don't make the morning hunger much better
For some reason bacon-and-pancake pajamas don’t make the morning hunger much better either

So here, my friends, is a nice little muffin for those mean little mornings. One muffin tin, one lazy morning, one nation, under muffins, with muffins and muffins for all. 

Oatmeal Carrot Muffins

You can hardly taste the carrots, but they do certainly lend a delicious moistness. The brown sugar + cinnamon combo gives the muffin a lovely warm taste, and with the amount of sugar added these muffins aren’t overpowering at all. I’m not clueless enough to call these muffins “light,” but as far as cinnamon rolls go, feel free to eat all 12 of them. Haha, kidding (not really). 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 cup oats
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cup grated carrots
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 large eggs

Steps

Preheat oven to 400°F. Yes, that’s what I said. No, I’m not mad.

Mix together dry ingredients: flour, oats, white sugar, brown sugar, salt, baking powder, grated carrots, cinnamon. Whew. 

Beat together the eggs and milk and vegetable oil.

IMG_6395

Add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients…

IMG_6398

Now pour into the muffin tin. Yo. Bake for about 15 minutes, until they’re golden brown on top and edges. 

IMG_6401

Ledicious. Sew ledicious.

IMG_6420

I’m lasivating.

My cat approves.

IMG_6406

So does the maple syrup.

IMG_6460

Are you feeling muffin-y?

Crispy Waffle Bits
Crispy Waffle Bits
Sweet & Tangy Blueberry Jam
Sweet & Tangy Blueberry Jam
No Oven Honey Roasted Almonds
No Oven Honey Roasted Almonds

Visit Kitchen Cici on Facebook!

13 Comments Add yours

  1. toopretty12 says:

    Reblogged this on The Pretty Canary.

  2. Oh yum! This sounds delicious. I can’t wait to give it a try.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Let me know when you do! 🙂

  3. Lisa says:

    Wow, these look really good! I love carrot breads and muffins – can’t wait to try these! Do you think I could dial back the sugar a bit and still get a tasty muffin? I’m looking to make these as a mid-morning or afternoon snack.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      You could dial back the sugar a bit, but I have to warn you that it doesn’t really taste sweet if you do–it’s kind of bland. (I tried it with one cup of sugar the first time I made these) However! If you serve with a dash of maple syrup, you can’t really taste the blandness at all. So go for it, and tell me how it goes!

      1. Lisa says:

        OK awesome, I’ll give these a shot! Thanks 🙂

  4. kathryncooks says:

    Maple syrup on carrot/oatmeal muffins. Genius!

  5. LucyBre says:

    Sound great – they remind me of carrot cake 😉

  6. LucyBre says:

    Oh and I can’t see the cooking time/ temp (I really should be wearing my glasses…). What is it?

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Oh MY thank you for bringing this up! I’ve updated the post 🙂 Apparently my brains are evaporating day by day…

      1. LucyBre says:

        Hahaha, I can finally get round to making them now!

Tell me somethin'

