Molten Chocolate Cobbler

on

Oh my goodness. Oh my goodness. Oh my goodness.

I have found heaven and nirvana and that gold watch I lost two years ago.

The bliss you experience with this cobbler is greater than any bliss you have ever experienced. That is no exaggeration. 

I’m not lying.

I’m still not lying.

It’s not opposite day.

It’s still not opposite day.

Confused yet? Good.

But seriously.

This piping-hot mess, with its gooey ooey center that slowly oozes a streak of dark chocolate warmth across your spoon.

This classic chocolate flavor, intensified by a hard ‘n crunchy outer shell that lends a perfectly crisp texture.

Words can’t describe this at all, so just look at the pretty pictures, follow my baking instructions, and say ahhh.

Molten Chocolate Cobbler

The thing I love about this recipe is its ease: no risk of ruining real chocolate (instead we use cocoa powder), and the crunchy-top magic happens without crazy oven temperatures and broiling/baking adjustments. It’s almost unfair that this should be so good and yet so simple. Now that’s what you call a life hack. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1½ cup white sugar
  • 7 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ½ cups milk
  • ⅓ cups butter, melted
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ cups packed brown sugar
  • hot water

Steps:

Stir together dry ingredients: 1 cup flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/4 tsp salt, only 3 tbsp of the cocoa, and only 3/4 cup of the white sugar. To this dry mixture, add the wet ingredients: 1/2 cup milk, 1/3 cup butter, and 1 tsp vanilla extract. Mix until smooth.

IMG_7671

Pour the mixture into an ungreased baking dish. I used a loaf pan to get a deeper cobbler, but use whatever your heart desires.

IMG_7672

In a separate small bowl, mix the 1/2 cup brown sugar, remaining 3/4 cup white sugar, and remaining 4 tbsp cocoa powder. Sprinkle this mixture evenly over the batter.

IMG_7676

Pour the hot tap water over all. No, I’m not crazy. And NO — don’t be tempted to stir, at all costs. Control your OCD.

IMG_7677

Bake at 350ºF for 30 minutes, or until the water has evaporated and the crust is thick and crunchy.

IMG_7680

 

Gahhhh. Look at this. Just look at it. No, you’re not looking at it if you’re reading this. Just looook.

IMG_7682

 

 

 

Now top with some ice cream. Seriously, this is great alone, but it gets 5000000000000000000 times better with ice cream. There’s just something about the cold plus hot combination that makes your brain go crazy.

IMG_7684My favorite is this paired with vanilla ice cream (it’s so simple and so classy and so mindblowingly delicious). But alas, we only had tiramisu gelato. I’m not complaining.

IMG_7693

Check out that crunchy exterior, that gooey interior, and that cold melty ice cream.IMG_7688

I can’t even begin to describe this. The things this cobbler does to my brain, my heart, my emotions…

It must be love.

What’s your ultimate indulgence?

Visit Kitchen Cici on Facebook!

 

 

 

14 Comments Add yours

  1. simplydelish says:

    Heaven for sure, yum!!!

  2. My mouth is watering, this looks amaaaazing!

  3. friedrichuta says:

    I became so hungry, this looks amazing!!

  4. Emily Karn says:

    i make something similar called a Lemon Pudding Cake, delish! Can’t wait to try your chocolate one.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Whoa, that sounds really good! And do let me know what you think of this!

      1. Emily Karn says:

        I tried it last night. YUM!!!! I topped it with some marshmallow fluff, oh the ooey gooey melted goodness. A new favorite recipe!

      2. Kitchen Cici says:

        Fantastic!! I’m really really happy that you like it!!

  5. I soo need to try this.. Will surely post the outcome.. Thanks in advance..😃
    mychocoholiclife.wordpress.com

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Awesome! And yes do post the outcome! 🙂

  6. emilykarn says:

    Reblogged this on Musings of a Soul Eclectic and commented:
    She’s not kidding about this recipe!

  7. You had me at cobbler *mouth watering

  8. It really scrumptious!

  9. It looks really scrumptious!

Tell me somethin'

