Simply Crispy Asparagus

I was really excited about having my own apartment kitchen this year, but then I realized something: I actually don’t eat a lot.

For example, one day I raided the bulk foods section of my local grocery store. Among my digs: precisely $0.21 worth of black rice.

Not that I counted the grains, but there were 132 of them. (Kidding.)

I also bought a head of cabbage once.

I’m now planning its half birthday. (Kidding? You decide.)

So naturally I was a little miffed when I found out that asparagus is only sold in impossibly large bunches.

3 weeks later: progress?

I was never a fan of asparagus. Oven roasted asparagus sounded cool, yes, but it always had this toughness that had me feeling like a cow chewing on dry prairie grass.

And then I discovered the sautéed asparagus method.

And my life changed.

Simple Sautéed Asparagus

I didn’t have much appreciation for the natural taste of vegetables until this. This cooking method really softens the outer toughness of asparagus, but preserves it inner crunchiness. It also infuses a slight caramelization that enriches its naturally fresh & vibrant taste. And the sprinkling of a little salt to sensitize your taste buds—oh my oh my.

Oh yeah, and it’s incredibly healthy.

You’ll Need:

  • 5 stalks asparagus
  • 2 tbsp oil
  • dash of salt & pepper

Steps:

  1. Cut the asparagus.

    This may or may not be 5 stalks as instructed
  2. Get enough oil to coat the bottom of your sauté pan. Heat the pan on medium-high.

    IMG_8478
    Why yes, my stove is actually a wooden table
  3. Toss in the ‘sparagus and cook for 5 minutes. It should get slightly brown and very sizzlingly hot.

    IMG_8487
    Just how I like my men wait what
  4. Top off with a dash of good old salt ‘n pepper.

Et voila. Asparagus is probably one of my favorite vegetables now, to be honest.

IMG_8490

Just look at that. Imagine the fresh aroma, the salty crunch. Wow.

IMG_8489

What’s your favorite veggie recipe?

11 Comments Add yours

  1. emilykarn says:

    My favorite veggie recipe is braised carrots with crystalized ginger. the sweet crunch of the carrots combined with the tartness of the ginger, yum.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      That sounds great! Not a fan of ginger but I’m going to have to try this it seems!

  2. chef mimi says:

    You’re funny! You know, it’s hard to cook for one, and in fact, I didn’t really learn how to cook until I got married. Not that you should get married…

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Oh it’s fine, I’m already in a committed relationship to chocolate.

  3. I loooove roasted broccoli!! When I get it perfectly right (crispy, salty, crunchy), I prefer it over French fries.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Roasted… in the oven? Hmm is it dry?

      1. Not at all! Toss broccoli florets with olive oil, salt, pepper and roast it at 450 degrees F until slightly sizzling and tips are browned. 👍

  4. This looks scrumptious! I’ve only ever blanched asparagus before, so planning to try it tonight 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Awesome! Tell me how it goes!

      1. It was delicious! Lovely and crispy 🙂 Added a squeeze of lemon juice, which contrasted nicely.

Tell me somethin'

