Rosemary Cheese Bread

IMG_6765

Carbs are delicious. Especially when they’re in the form of an imperfectly-formed, warm loaf of bread, inside of a crinkly and obnoxious paper bag fresh from the bakery. When it’s crispy and chewy on the outside, and moist and fluffy on the inside. When the dough has been aged just the right amount, giving it that soft bread-y aroma.

Or, you know, when you roll together some dough in your home kitchen and throw in handfuls of cheese.

I’m no master baker, but I know this 8-oz. bag of golden dairy product will cover any deficiencies

Also: rosemary. Because I received a cute little jar of dried organic rosemary from my friend for Christmas, and I like to wave around the fact that I have better friends than you do.

Don’t give me that look.

Easy Rosemary Cheese Bread

If you have a loaf pan (unlike me), I HIGHLY suggest using it! This would be amazing in the form of sliced and toasted sandwich bread, because it is a little confusing when you have cheese balls that aren’t, you know, actual gooey cheese-filled balls of golden goodness.

But while this is probably not going to satisfy your late-night cravings for indulgence, all is not lost! If you’re in the mood for extra cheesy bread, go ahead and just add more cheese to the bread. What, cooking is logical sometimes. Mull that over as I sit here mourning my lack of a loaf pan by eating my emotions (aka these cheese bread balls).

Ingredients

makes 1 loaf or 9″ pan of bread balls

  • 1 cup warm water
  • 1/3 cup white sugar
  • 2-1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 3 cups flour
  • 2 cups cheddar cheese
  • dash of rosemary

Steps

1. Mix together water and sugar. Sprinkle in yeast and let sit for 10 minutes. Then, stir in the salt, vegetable oil, and flour. Form a nice dough.

IMG_6746

2. Let it rise until doubled. Then roll out into a rectangle…

IMG_6747

…Sprinkle a generous amount of cheese on it…

IMG_6749

…Roll into a log…

IMG_6751

If you’re using a loaf pan like you should, give this log a few twists and turns and kneads to incorporate the cheese, shape it into a loaf, and place in loaf pan.

If you’re being a rebel without a loaf pan, cut into little pieces to form into balls…

IMG_6752

…And roll the balls in some more cheese, plus some rosemary for that delicious flavor boost. (If you’re using a loaf pan, sprinkle cheese and rosemary on top!)

3. Now let it sit outside for 1-2 hours. Or if you’re making this the night before like I did, just put it in the fridge; in the morning, let it sit in a warm place for about 30 minutes. Either way, it should be nice and puffy.

IMG_6757

4. Bake at 375F for 25 minutes.

IMG_6762

Can you smell that? Such a delicious blend of cheese and rosemary. 

IMG_6765

Cheese and rosemary. 

IMG_6790Beautiful outside and inside. 

Visit Kitchen Cici on Facebook!

29 Comments Add yours

  1. I am loving rosemary these days (and cheese always of course), will definitely have to try this! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Awesome — let me know how it goes! 🙂

  2. fatsandbird says:

    Oooh yum! We’ve been obsessed with rosemary in bread lately too, we made rosemary and walnut and then rosemary and olive… delicious!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Oh those sound like wonderful combinations! I’ve never heard of rosemary and walnut before…

  3. Laura says:

    I used to be such a sucker for any kind of bread! This looks so delicious – it’d never last long in my house!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thank you! Bread is a delicious delicious thing.

  4. air-runn says:

    Yum! I’ll definitely have to make these.

  5. Good Morning Kitchen Cici! As you know, I am Celiac, but your recipes always look so good, that they present a challenge to me to make it gluten free. Flavor and texture is the name of the game in gluten-free cooking and baking, and your description sounds so good. I do still remember he texture from long ago.
    Your website his so happy looking and inviting! Thanks so much for sharing !
    Ciao for now my cyber friend!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Lovely comments like this make my day! You could always try this recipe with gluten free bread mix, I suppose, and that would be quite an adventure… although I do find that gluten free bread doesn’t quite have the same texture. But thank you thank you for reading, and ciao!

  6. chef mimi says:

    These buns are beautiful!

  7. misha says:

    very nice. i never considered the roll and cut method of including cheese in my bread rolls… good idea. going to have to give that a try.

    i make black pepper, basil, and garlic rolls that look almost exactly like yours. nothing quite like extra soft tear-away rolls out of the oven, is there? they are good for the belly, sure, but more importantly they are good for the soul.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Oh my black pepper, basil, and garlic sound like a delightful combination! Rolls are amazing, indeed!

  8. Girl, you read my mind: that’s exactly what I was looking for! Thanks!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      You’re welcome, glad I could help! Heehee.

  9. I’m never patient enough for bread, the time I’ve attempted never quite turn out the way I want. This sounds so delicious though!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      You should try bread again sometime! It’s mostly waiting time, but if you start it early and have something to occupy yourself with, it’s actually really straightforward and convenient! (Plus it seems that with bread you really do have to follow directions so it’ll turn out good, go figure.)

  10. pridhi31 says:

    First of all, I have to say your Blog is so bright and full of life!! Thumbs up for that 😉 Second of all, I love bread and this recipe looks quite uncomplicated and fun to make. I am definitely going to give this recipe a try!! Just one question..I have attempted to make bread before, and I don’t know why the smell of yeast just overpowers all the ingredients. I used dry yeast.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Hmm, does it still overpower the smell of bread after baking? That’s unusual… too much yeast perhaps?

  11. Ahila says:

    I made the dough, as per your recipe instructions last night and baked the bread this morning. It turned out delicious. This is certainly a recipe that I will be remaking often. Thank you 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thank you for trying this! I’m really really glad you liked it!! 😀

  12. I am so making this. 🙂 You’re right: carbs are awesome!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yay! Let me know how it turns out for you!

Tell me somethin'