Quick Caramel Pastries

This is so decadent yet so simple, I’m literally speechless.

Which is why I’m literally still talking.

But humor me for a second and close your eyes and just imagine.

Delicious, golden-brown sweetness. Glorious, warm-and-sticky caramel. It’s like all of your sweet pastry dreams in one fantastic breakfast pastry.

Now open your eyes. Ignore the paradoxical nature of that exercise, the impossibility of closing your eyes to imagine and opening your eyes to read at the same time.

Forget all of it. Drown yourself in your sorrows, your happiness, your pain, your glories, your sticky scrumptious caramel-y breakfast.

It’s all the same thing.

Quick Caramel Pastries

Note: This is an easy whip-it-up recipe for a lazy decadent breakfast. The caramel filling is highly simplified because I didn’t want to mess with cream or anything fancy; it will dry up and crumble when cooled. No worries though—just pop it in the microwave to make it all gooey and caramel-y again!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup flour
  • 4 tbsp butter or margarine, cut into small chunks
  • dash of salt
  • 2-3 tbsp water

For the filling:

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar

Steps:

1. In a bowl, mix together flour, butter, and salt.

IMG_6238
Don’t be tempted to eat this, however tempting it may be

Add enough water to make it into a dough.

Nice and cohesive, just like all of my college classes sometimes maybe not haha funny
Nice and cohesive, just like all of my college classes sometimes maybe not haha what

2. Turn out the dough and roll into a rectangle. 

IMG_6241
Look at that butter spot in the top right. It’s like a sunspot but delicious-er
IMG_6243
Fold the rectangle into thirds, turn, and roll flat again.

 Store in fridge for 15 minutes. I like to prepare the dough the night before and stick it in the fridge overnight.

4. Melt butter and brown sugar on stovetop, Medium-High heat, until it reaches a thick caramel consistency (about 3 minutes).

Don't lick or your tongue live to will regret it
Sweet like honey, hot like lava

5. Cut dough into squares and fill each with caramel.

IMG_6246
“Square” is a descriptive approximation
IMG_6248
Fold over into cute little triangles

6. Bake at 350°F for about 20 minutes, until the caramel oozes and goozes.

IMG_6256

Can you see the delicious goldenness? Perhaps this is better:

IMG_6257Yesss.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Oh. My. Goodness. I am salivating over this recipe. The picture makes me wish that I could just reach into the screen and grab one for myself! I will have to replace the flour with something gluten-free/nut-free and the butter with something dairy-free. When I get around to tweaking it, I will let you know the measurements just in case you’d like to add it to your recipe, or give it a try yourself. 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      YES do let me know! I’d love to see the modified version!

  2. s0ymilk says:

    lovely! if you rolled the dough in only one direction you’d get more puffiness too 🙂 I love baked pastriessss

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thanks for telling me about the dough thing! I’ve definitely heard of it but I guess I was so desperate for a quick sweet that didn’t remember… 🙂

  3. LFFL says:

    I love the looks of this pastry.

  4. mydearbakes says:

    This is such a delightful bake! So pretty!

  5. chef mimi says:

    Fabulous! I can just taste them!

  6. Deena Kakaya says:

    Oh how lovely, do simple yet scrumptious x

Tell me somethin'

