Try This: Toasted Croissants

I realize that French food connoisseurs might have something against this, but for me, this is a way of living. I will never eat croissants the same way again.

A flaky, buttery, warm, crunchy, delicious start to the day.

It’s especially delicious when you use a big fluffy croissant, snatched right out of the glass bakery display of your local grocery store.

Unfortunately, I didn’t have that luxury this morning, so a pathetic little croissant bought in bulk had to suffice. But hey, I’m not complaining.

Never again will you settle for the plain old croissant. This is Croissant 2.0.

Okay, let’s go. To start off, you want to cut your croissant in half, just like so:

img_6087

Now here’s the toughest part. Carefully, pick up each croissant half and translocate it from the plate to the toasting machine. You can either broil it in the oven for a minute, or toast it in the toaster. If you’re using the toaster, be careful to not damage the croissant during placement into the toasting bay. This is crucial for an enjoyable croissant experience.

Once finished, you’ll have something like this:

img_6089

You are now finished. You may enjoy your croissant, or you may make your breakfast experience even more enjoyable by spreading extra butter over the croissant.

img_6092

In the words of Paula Deen, “You can never have enough butter.”

Now admire the flakiness of the croissant, the layers, the beauty. Take it all in before you take a bite.

img_6097

Happy morning. You have survived your first challenge of the day.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. sophiebowns says:

    Heavenly!

  2. Now my mouth is watering!

  3. I love croissants so much, my old high school used to sell them warm just after 10 o’clock *drools* – the French have some amazingly tasty inventions.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Your high school sold croissants??? So classy. And yes the French are quite amazing with their pastries and delicacies!

      1. Hahaha I think they were frozen ones, but pretty great anyway!

  4. Warm buttery croissants are enough to lift me out of the deepest gloom…. I can only imagine the new level to which toasting can elevate croissants. 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yes, croissants are so awesome! Toasted ones are indeed better 😉

  5. loren24250 says:

    Hmmm…Haven’t tried this approach yet, but I will. The bakery in our little French village makes pretty awful croissants, but there are several bakeries within easy driving distance that make superb croissants.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Ah, good bakery-fresh croissants are simply the best!! 🙂 Toasted, they’re absolutely delightful.

  6. chef mimi says:

    a way of life indeed!!!

  7. Haha! My favorite way to eat a croissant is to peel it and unravel all the layers (it takes like 5 years to eat one, but totally worth it!)

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      No WAY – I do that too! I mean, that’s what layers are for, right?

Tell me somethin'