30-Minute Spiced Chicken Thighs

You probably know chicken.

You probably know it’s pretty easy to make, it’s almost always savory, and it plays nice with a bunch of different other foods.

While I’ve been mostly vegetarian/vegan lately, I do enjoy some nice, responsibly-raised chicken once in a while. I usually go for the chicken breasts (lean and mean) — but chicken thighs are great because they’re very tender, they’re less expensive, and it’s hard to dry them out on accident.

Spiced Chicken Thighs

This recipe gives a slightly spicy, mostly savory taste. Obviously, you can change up the specific spices. When I make chicken, I just go through my spice cabinet and throw in every spice that I think tastes good with chicken. I like this combo in particular. 

Ingredients: 

  • 1 lb chicken thighs
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • dash of salt & pepper, garlic powder, cumin, cayenne powder

Steps:

1. Marinate chicken in 1/2 cup soy sauce + 1/2 cup water + 1 tbsp sugar. It’ll make the chicken more flavorful, don’t neglect this!

2. Preheat oven to 340°F. This is the temperature I use when I’m too lazy to stand there for two more seconds to bump it to 350°F.

3. Season the chicken with everything.

3. Put it on the skillet and sauté both sides. Brown it as much as you want; it won’t brown any more in the oven.

4. Pop in the oven for 15-20 minutes. And then open up the oven and find this…

 

img_46261

Look at those sizzling juices. It’s glistening. And it smells so darn good.

img_46301

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Rene says:

    Looks delicious!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      It was delicious! 🙂

  2. These look so tasty! I can’t wait to try this out.

    1. kitchencici says:

      Let me know how it is!!

  3. Lush! Definitely trying this tomorrow

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Cool! Hope you like it! 🙂

Tell me somethin'