Asian-Inspired Guacamole

I’ve been eating this stuff for years, and I didn’t know it was guacamole.

In our house, we just called it “avocado salad.”

In our house, we ate it as a side dish. We ate it straight. On toast. On crackers. On cold spoons. Under the table. Inside the chicken coop. Upside down. Underwater. What. 

We don’t even have a chicken coop.

IMG_4604
Satellite view

And then I found out normal people call it “guacamole” and use it as a dip for tortilla chips. But then I found out “normal” isn’t a defined term, and then a class with Postmodernist theory happened to my senior year class schedule, and reality may not be real, and something something hyperreality whatever that is, and Judith Butler, and Super Bowl commercials, and a thick textbook that was impossible to read. And now all I know is that guacamole is yummy.

And you know what? That’s enough for me.

(P. S. Postmodernism is quite fascinating, actually.)

(P. P. S. Do I seem sophisticated now.)

Asian-Inspired Guacamole

As with most Asian cuisine, it doesn’t matter exactly how much of what you add to this dish. You just gotta have some basic ingredients, and then add in whatever you happen to have on hand. Easy? Easy.

Basic Ingredients:

  • 1 whole avocado. Butter may not be used as a substitute. There are avocado brownies but there’s no butter guacamole. This proves that avocado > butter.
  • A tablespoon or so soy sauce. The Asian ketchup.

Extras:

  • Sesame oil. Just a couple of drops.
  • Onions. Maybe a tbsp or two. It gets overpowering.
  • Garlic. Maybe 1 clove.
  • All of the above. Where is the Yes button. 

Steps:

1. Mash it all together. I don’t know you, but I think you can handle that. 

Despite knowing its true identity, I think guacamole is still great on things beside chips. It’s a fantastic complement to the rough texture of toasted baguettes in the morning, a silky smooth balance to the relative acidity of mustard-y roast beef sandwiches, and a great color balance for mostly anything, including your Cheetos-orange mouth. It’s okay, I commit breakfast sins too.

Actually, I don’t like guacamole on tortilla chips because I like tortilla chips for who they are. And you should too.

IMG_4610

My cat approves.

26 Comments Add yours

  1. air-runn says:

    avocado > butter?!?!?!
    That’s a lofty statement! I love them both! Too hard to decided!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Ha ha I was just having a healthy moment. Or you could read it as sarcasm. Either way, I agree with you – they’re both very very good.

  2. Jaimee says:

    Def trying this! I love love LOVE Guac.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Let me know how it goes!! 😀 Hope you like it.

  3. lenomadefood says:

    Gotta love some guac. Nice twist!

  4. I really have to give this a go. I’m a new fan of Avocado, but I’ve never been a butter lover, so I’ll have to agree with the butter thing… though my family won’t agree with me. I always have soy-sauce, sesame oil and garlic around so I’m all set! 😀

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Awesome! Good luck on your avocado adventure!

  5. putputteats says:

    Adding sesame oil to avocado?! Why have I never thought of that! Brilliant idea!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Why thank you! It’s more for the smell than the taste, but it melds nicely with the Asian theme. Enjoy! (:

  6. deedeephotog says:

    This looks delicious! I love avocados! On everything.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thanks! Yeah me too, they’re an amazing food!!

  7. bakeaffairs says:

    This looks so good! Thank you for sharing this recipe and the beautiful pictures!

  8. It’s funny how we both posted an entry about avocados in the same week. I am definitely trying this one once I am back in my own kitchen on campus!

    Hugs,
    Jo

    PS: Avocado totally greater than butter.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha avocados are pretty amazing!! Lemme know how it goes! 🙂

  9. Great take on guac! We will have to try this. Thanks for visiting and liking our House of Bedlam post!

  10. I eat (most days) an avocado a day at work as a snack that makes me happy (and generally like people more). I’ve been known to bring a bowl of guac to work for lunch. It’s. Just. So. Good. I’ll let you know when I try this one! 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Awesome, do let me know! I’m jealous of your avocado diet, haha.

  11. consingas says:

    Asian-inspired and breakfast?!! This is an idea after my own heart. I may need to repost this if that’s OK. Bravocado!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha reblog as you like!! 🙂

  12. Thanks for sharing! I can’t get enough of anything with avocados in it !

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      You’re welcome! Hope you enjoy! 🙂

  13. Karen says:

    As an American (and therefore a lover a Mexican food) that married a Chinese man, I’m both offended and excited about this recipe. Offended because guac is amazing as it is (well fresh guac as it’s meant to be, anyway). Excited, because how could I not throw asian ingredients at avocado? It’s brilliant, and my mother-in-law is sure to be obsessed with it/love me that little bit more 🙂 Thanks for sharing this recipe!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha! I must admit, you had me a little worried when you said you were offended. But you’re welcome! I hope both you and your family enjoy this recipe!! 🙂

      1. Karen says:

        One day I’ll get around to posting my Dad’s guac recipe and then you’ll understand how you can’t mess with Tex Mex, lol!

Tell me somethin'

