Gloriously Fluffy Oatmeal

Is it possible? That a measly 1/4 cup of oatmeal can magically puff up to 1.5 cups of bliss?

Yes.

See, I don’t know if you’ve realized this, but oatmeal soaks up water.

Bask in my intelligence.

Normally when you’re cooking oatmeal in the morning (we’re talking old-fashioned oats here), the oatmeal doesn’t have enough time to soak up enough water to be puffy and glorious enough to amaze your mouth.

I mean honestly, if it takes you 20 minutes in the pool to turn into a human prune, how do you expect the oatmeal to be soft and pillowy in 10 minutes?

So the trick lies in giving your oatmeal time to soak up water. Much more time than 10 minutes.

We’re talking 5 full days.

Kidding! We’re talking overnight.

image-3
This trick is so handy and easy that one time on a school trip, knowing that breakfast would be hard to come by the next morning, I brought along some dry oats and made Gloriously Fluffy Oatmeal in this here glass cup, in the hotel room, at 10:00pm. I didn’t do a very good job, but at least I had food. Yeah, I even brought almonds. I came prepared.

Gloriously Fluffy Oatmeal

Notes: I usually halve this recipe and use 1/4 cup of oatmeal, which puffs up to about 1 1/2 cups. If you have hungry parents/siblings/children/hippos, you can easily multiply the recipe.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats. Did you know January is National Oatmeal Month?
  • 2 1/4 cup milk or water. You can add 2 cups if you want; I prefer my oatmeal somewhat porridge-y.

Steps:

1. Throw everything together.
2. Heat in microwave for 2 minutes. Or until it starts to bubble over the rim. Stir.
3. Leave it somewhere overnight. Preferably a place where you can find it the next morning. In the fridge, the microwave, on the kitchen counter.

Now say good night and sing it a lullaby.

In the morning, you can warm it up in the microwave or eat it cold from the fridge.

So obviously, there are a lot of variations that can stem from this basic oatmeal trick. You can add flaxseed, almonds, berries, granola, brown sugar, anything but the kitchen sink.

I suggest adding the extras right before consumption though, because while oats enjoy soaking overnight, the other add-ins definitely don’t appreciate it. The almonds get soft, the granola gets mushy, the berries get weird. Then you get sad.

image-2

Now eat up, Goldilocks. The bears are coming home soon.

41 Comments Add yours

  1. sedrate says:

    Wow, easy! I’m going to give it a try.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Do! Let me know how it turns out 😉

    2. Kitchen Cici says:

      Um yeah that was definitely supposed to be a normal smiley face. Shift keys sometimes…

      1. sedrate says:

        No prob. It might be awhile before I remember to remember to try this. I have to make ice cream first, and coffee creamer, and possibly bread.

  2. I’m going to give that a try! Looks great

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Lemme know how it goes!

  3. I adore oatmeal so I will be sure to try this! Your humour and recipes gave you another follower 😀 xx

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thanks!! 😀 You make me happy. Hope you like the oatmeal!

  4. spicycocoa says:

    Looks good! defintiely much better than the oatmeal i’ve eaten :p

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Thanks! It’s so easy, you must try it!

  5. cilleriania says:

    I’d thought about soaking oats for a while before making my porridge. I’m definitely going to have to try this!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      You must! It’s so easy too! (:

  6. I’ve soaked oats overnight before making my porridge for a while but never cooked them and then left them overnight. Going to try it for tomorrow’s breaky 🙂

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Awesome!! Let me know how it goes! 🙂

      1. Okay, well when I opened the fridge to a bowl of oats which had solidified things weren’t looking too good BUT after stirring in loads more milk it resembled normal porridge again. I ate half the bowl cold and then due to habit reheated the rest. Have to say I preferred the first half! Thank you for this porridge revelation 😀

      2. Kitchen Cici says:

        Haha you are welcome! 🙂 I’m curious, how much liquid and oats did you use? It doesn’t turn into that solid oatmeal when I use that ratio..

  7. Oh I didn’t measure it, that’d be why! I just stuck in about the same amount I usually do when I soak it overnight, maybe 1.5 cups, which obviously wouldn’t be enough if I stopped to think about it!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Haha yeah the cooking makes it soak up way more water than usual! I’ve definitely ended up with the solid oatmeal in the morning, but I agree, when you add in some extra liquid and stir, it’s not bad at all 🙂

  8. Lisa says:

    I’ve tried this with milk, but I guess water would work the same way!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yeah I prefer milk because it’s richer, but water works just as well!

  9. Antoliya says:

    Hahaha, I love the way you write. Its hilarious.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Ah thanks!! I’m glad you think I’m funny:)

  10. rutujak says:

    Perfect, have to give this a try! And love your writing style, so so refreshing and engaging!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Ahh thank you! 🙂 Let me know when you try it out!

  11. BRITT says:

    Love it!!! My current breakfast hack is to spray microwave bacon with PAM to make it crispier ^-^

    Thanks for visiting my new blog, Hacking Homestyle!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      That’s a wonderful idea, I think I’ve heard of that somewhere. Hmm, gotta try that hack some time!

  12. I only recently discovered I liked oatmeal. I’ve only ever tried instant microwave oatmeal. I am so excited to try this recipe!! And thanks for making me laugh with the “5 full days” line :).

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Heehee and thank YOU for visiting! 🙂 Hope you enjoy and as always let me know how this turns out!

  13. Can you actually use oatmeal, rather than oats. I bought oatmeal and it has sat in the cupboard for months. I have done the oats soak overnight thing…then added frozen blueberries after cooking in micro mmmmmmmmmmmmm.

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      So are you talking quick oats? Quick oats cook faster than regular old-fashioned oats, but it should work nonetheless!

  14. I LOVE oatmeal! I’m going to have to give this basic spin a try sometime!

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yes! It’s so so easy, and you’ll be addicted forEVER!

  15. Cool trick! Cant wait to try..

  16. Scott Claborn Blanchat says:

    Nobody has ever typed back their experience with this. Well, I made some last night with brown sugar added before the microwave, and I am going to try the first bite . . . Wait, I suppose I didn’t add the sugar, but did just add some sweetened condensed milk. Give me a second. OK, this stuff is outta’ sight!

    1. Scott Claborn Blanchat says:

      OK, next time brown sugar will be added prior to cooking, and raisins, too. The sweetened condensed milk makes everything good.

    2. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yay! I’m so glad you liked it and that it worked and that it’s awesome. I’ve never added sweetened condensed milk to oatmeal, but I suppose that does combine the best of dairy and sugar—two necessary components for a good bowl of oats! Thanks for your reply!

  17. Christina Ford says:

    I’m gonna give this a try.. No matter how hard I try, I have never been able to make oatmeal the way my dad did when I was a kid.. It was always so creamy and soft.. I’ve followed the directions on the old fashioned Quaker oats and while its kind of close, the oats are never soft enough.. I always feel like the oats haven’t absorbed enough water.. I’m not sure if that makes any sense.. But my dads would turn into almost a solid when cold but the minute you warmed it up and added some milk, it was deliciously creamy again.. Only question I have is when you soak the night before, you put in the fridge overnight, right?

    1. Kitchen Cici says:

      Yes! Fridge is best, although I honestly have forgotten before and just left it in the microwave. Either way, it’s edible and I’m not dead 🙂 Good luck and lemme know how it goes!

Tell me somethin'